Georgia Senate Bill 135 increases workers' comp benefits

effective July 1, 2019

Georgia workers’ compensation amendment increases disability and death benefits for injured workers and families

2019 Georgia workers' comp law amendments

Effective July 1, 2019, SB 135, signed by Governor Brian Kemp, amends state law related to workers’ compensation for total disability, temporary partial disability, and compensation for death.

Modified provisions related to workers’ compensation administration and benefits include:

Expansion of allowances to 400-week maximum period cap

For non-catastrophic injuries arising on or after July 1, 2013, the 400-week maximum period cap is not applicable for specified treatments by authorized physicians when prescribed within 400 weeks of the date of injury arising out of and in the course of employment.

Authorized, prescribed treatments include the purchase, maintenance, repair, revision, replacement, or removal of:

  • Any prosthetic devices
  • Spinal cord stimulator or intrathecal pump devices
  • Durable medical equipment, orthotics, corrective eyeglasses, or hearing aids

Increased cap on employee’s average weekly benefits for TTD and TPD injuries

Temporary total injuries (TTD)

While the disability to work resulting from an injury is temporarily total, the employer must pay the employee:

  • Two-thirds of the employee’s average weekly wage, up to $675 per week and no less than $50 per week. (If the weekly wage is below $50, the employer must pay that amount.)

Temporary partial injuries (TPD)

Where the disability to work resulting from the injury is partial in character but temporary in quality, the employer must pay the employee:

  • Two-thirds of the difference between the average weekly wage before the injury and the average weekly wage the employee is able to earn thereafter, up to $450 per week for up to 350 weeks from the date of injury.

Increased total compensation at time of death

The total compensation payable to a surviving spouse as a sole dependent at the time of death and where there is no other dependent for one year or less after the death is increased to $270,000. Total compensation was $230,000 under the previous law.

Find out if SB 135 affects your workers’ compensation claim. Call Benzo Law at 404-480-7000 for a free case evaluation. 

Don’t have time for a call? Email us!

2019-07-09T04:41:58+00:00

Leave A Comment